Projects

Carousel project (Processing) – 2017


The project interprets the relationship between a space location and temporal occurrences according to the concept of light cones. A coding made from the Processing software uses photographs taken always in the same place as the seasons go by. These photographs are assembled in a band of images succeeding one another in an interrupted movement, each image hanging on to the first at the end of its course. The image strip is then multiplied a hundred times and the copies are moved according to a random calculation. After a regular interval, the movements are recalculated to generate a new universe.


What is proposed in these dimensional evolutions, it is to find at repeated intervals the photographs intact but oscillating between the reality of the landscape elements present in the photographs towards the effects of superimpositions, cuts and geometric shear crisscrossed. We are then spectators of landscape transformations caused by nature (weather conditions, sunlight, reflections on the ground, on rain or snow) and by the urban human presence (motor vehicles, runners, walkers, reconstruction of the kiosk) regardless of the photographer’s action. The eye is returned to the centre of the work. The everydayness of images then explodes with their manipulation by computer coding. We are witnessing the reappropriation of the cosmic dimension of our daily lives.

AI robotics project (Jetson Nano, PyTorch, OpenCV, C ++, Python and Max MSP) – 2019/2020

A robot travels on its way in its world which boils down to a square. With his camera, his eye, he captures images that he uses with his artificial neural network to decide his path. Another system watches it evolve, but it cannot move. He is different. It determines the robot’s position and records its movements. It projects what the robot sees onto the robot’s path. Over time and the robot’s movements, these images fade away. It reacts to the robot’s movements by projecting colours and making sounds.

Hypermediacity project (Pure data and Processing) – 2017

Synthesizer Project (Leap Motion and Max MSP) – 2017/2018

Montreal crime project (Unity and Max MSP) – 2018

The purpose of this research-creation project is to question the use of data / metadata and their visualization by inscribing them in a representation diverted from the usual computer graphics. The representation of statistics in connection with the concept of an open city is a pretext to offer an experience for spectators by emphasizing the importance of rendering. It is an exploration of open data made available to citizens in the concept of smart city aiming to explore the representation of data, their categorization, their scrambling and their positioning in the territory.

Walking – 2018

Projets

Projet carrousel (Processing) – 2017

Le projet interprète la relation entre un lieu spatial et des occurrences temporelles multiples selon le concept des cônes de lumière. Un code dans le logiciel Processing anime des photographies prises toujours au même lieu au fil des saisons. Ces photographies sont assemblées en une bande d’images se succédant dans un mouvement interrompu, chaque image se raccrochant à la première à la fin de son parcours. La bande d’images est ensuite multipliée et les copies sont déplacées selon un calcul aléatoire. À intervalles réguliers les déplacements sont recalculés pour générer un nouvel univers.

Ce qui est proposé dans ces évolutions dimensionnelles, c’est de retrouver à intervalles répétés les photographies intactes, mais oscillantes entre la réalité des éléments paysagers présents sur les photographies vers les effets de superpositions, coupes et cisaillements géométriques entrecroisés. Nous sommes alors spectateurs des transformations du paysage provoquées par la nature (conditions météorologiques, ensoleillement, reflets au sol, sur la pluie ou la neige) et par la présence humaine urbaine (véhicules à moteur, coureurs, marcheurs, reconstruction du kiosque) quelle que soit l’action du photographe. L’œil est renvoyé au centre de l’œuvre. La quotidienneté des images explose alors avec leur manipulation par codage informatique. Nous assistons à la réappropriation de la dimension cosmique de notre vie quotidienne.

Projet robotique IA (Jetson Nano, PyTorch, OpenCV, C++, Python et Max MSP) – 2019/2020

Un robot parcourt son chemin dans son monde qui se résume à un carré. Avec sa caméra, son œil, il capture des images qu’il utilise avec son réseau de neurones artificiels pour décider de son chemin. Un autre système le regarde évoluer, mais il ne peut pas bouger. Il est différent. Il détermine la position du robot et enregistre ses mouvements. Il projette sur le chemin du robot ce que le robot voit. Au fil du temps et des mouvements du robot, ces images s’effacent. Il réagit aux mouvements du robot en projetant des couleurs et en émettant des sons.

Projet hypermédiacité (Pure data et Processing) – 2017

Projet synthétiseur (Leap Motion et Max MSP) – 2017/2018

Projet criminalité à Montréal (Unity et Max MSP) – 2018

La finalité de ce projet de recherche-création est d’interroger l’utilisation des données/métadonnées et leur visualisation en les inscrivant dans une représentation détournée de l’infographie habituelle.  La représentation des statistiques en lien avec le concept de ville ouverte est un prétexte pour proposer une expérience chez des spectateurs en soulignant l’importance du rendu.  Il s’agit d’une exploration des données ouvertes mises à la disposition des citoyens dans le concept de ville intelligente visant à explorer la représentation des données, leur catégorisation, leur brouillage et leur positionnement dans le territoire.

Projet marche – 2018